Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Anas, Karhana star in Asian Athletics Grand Prix

30 April, 2017 12:46 PM
136 0

National record holder quartermiler Muhammed Anas and shot putter Om Prakash Karhana clinched a gold each as India bagged a rich-haul of eight medals in the third and final Asian Athletics Grand Prix Meet in Taipie City on Sunday.

Anas, who could not get visa for the first two legs of the Asian GP in two Chinese cities, clocked 45.69 secs to win the gold in his first international meet of the season. His effort, however, fell short of the IAAF World Championships entry mark of 45.50secs.

Sunday’s time was Anas’ third best in his career after his 45.40 secs (national record) and 45.44 secs (both came last year).

The silver went to Cong Lich (Vietnam) in 46.66 secs while Mikhail Litvin of Kazakhstan was third in 47.03 secs.

In men’s shot put, Karhana won a gold with a best throw of 19.58m which he came up in his third round. This was Karhana’s first international gold medal in a long time.

China’s Wu Jiaxing (19.21) and Iranian Ali Samari (18.68) were the other medalists of the day.

The 30-year-old Indian had won back-to-back bronze medals in the first two legs. He has a personal best of 20.69m since 2012.

Manpreet Kaur (women’s shot put), Tintu Luka (women’s 800m), Jinson Johnson (men’s 800m) and Dutee Chand (women’s 100m) bagged a silver each while Neeraj Chopra (men’s javelin throw) and MR Poovamma (women’s 400m) settled for a bronze each.

Shot putter Manpreet Kaur, who had smashed her own national record to win the gold in the first leg with a throw of 18.86m, had to settle for a silver today with an effort of 17.38m, behind Song Jiayuan (17.46m) of China. She had also won a silver in the second leg.

In women’s 800m, national record holder Luka clocked a below—par 2:03.97 to finish second behind Gayanthika Thushari of Sri Lanka who clocked 2:03.87. Luka had also won a silver each in the first two legs.

In men’s 800m, Jinson Johnson clocked 1:51:35 to win a silver. He had also won a silver in the first leg before finishing eighth in the second leg.

The fourth silver for India was won by Dutee Chand in women’s 100m dash with a time of 11.52 secs. Dutee had won a bronze in the first leg and a silver in the second leg.

It was a big disappointment for junior world record holder javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra who had to settle for a bronze with a below-par throw of 79.90m.

Chopra had qualified for the IAAF World Championships in the second leg with a silver—winning effort of 83.32m. He had also won a silver in the first leg. Chopra had thrown the spear to a distance of 86.48m to win the gold in the Junior World Championships last year.

The second bronze for India was won by Poovamma, running in her first race of the year, in women’s 400m as she clocked 53.11 secs. She also could not take part in the first two legs as she was denied visa.

India had won seven medals (1 gold, 4 silver, 2 bronze) in the first leg on April 24 and six (1 gold, 4 silver, 1 bronze) in the second leg on April 27.


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0