Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

An Assembly of radicals

20 April, 2018 7:42 PM
97 0

The Karnataka Legislative Assembly that was formed after the 1972 elections is unique in many ways.

In terms of composition, it was for the first time that the Assembly had more AHINDA (Kannada acronym for minorities, backward classes and Dalits) members than those from the dominant castes of the State. In terms of political ideologies also it was unique.

Chief Minister was D. Devaraj Urs, who is credited with ushering in radical land reforms. The Assembly had three firebrand Communists — B.V. Kakkilaya, Neelappa and M.S. Krishnan. There were also young Socialist Party members such as S. Bangarappa, Kagodu Thimmappa, and Konandur Lingappa.

This Assembly passed the Karnataka Land Reforms (Amendment) Act, 1974, which was considered radical when compared with the two earlier Acts of 1956 and 1965. The Communist members and the Socialist members of this Assembly demanded radical amendments, which resulted in Urs setting up an advisory committee under Kakkilaya. Many radical reforms such as reduction of upper ceiling from 52 standard acres to 10 acres were suggested by the committee.


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0