Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Narada sting: CBI files FIR against 12 Trinamool leaders

17 April, 2017 1:22 PM
26 0

Thirteen Trinamool Congress (TMC) leaders - including Rajya Sabha MP Mukul Roy, Lok Sabha MPs Sultan Ahmed, Saugata Roy, Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar and Aparupa Poddar - have been booked by the CBI for corruption in the Narada sting case where they were allegedly caught on camera taking money.

KOLKATA: The CBI on Monday registered an FIR in the Narada sting case naming 13 accused persons including senior Trinamool Congress leaders Mukul Roy, Saugata Roy and Madan Mitra. The investigative agency was asked by the Supreme Court to probe Narada sting and its one-month deadline ends on Monday.

The FIRs have been lodged against Trinamool ministers, MPs and they have been charged under the Prevention of Corruption Act and for conspiracy too. The CBI probed the footage of Narada sting and after going through it, the agency filed the FIR.

The other TMC leaders who have been named in the FIR are: Sultan Ahmed, Iqbal ahmed, Kakoli Ghosh, Prasun Banerjee, Subhendu Adhikari, Sovan chatterjee, Subrata Mukherjee, Syed Hussain Meerza and Firhad Hakim.

Two Trinamool MPs, Sudip Banerjee and Tapas Pal, are already in the CBI custody for their alleged link in the chit fund scam.

Also read: When the two ‘missing’ MLAs appeared


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0