Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

No stopping Ashwin, Balu

24 June, 2018 4:24 PM
103 0

For the second day running, young Ashwin Datta (MRF F1600) and veteran Arjun Balu (Indian Touring Cars) hogged the limelight with a triple and a double, respectively, as the second round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Racing Championship concluded at the Kari Motor Speedway, here on Sunday.

Datta, a 19-year old from Chennai and making his debut in the MRF F1600 class, finished the weekend by winning all the three races, while Balu, 43, marked his return to racing after a five-year break by dominating the premier Indian Touring Cars class where he won both the races in imperious style.

MRF Formula 1600 (Race two): 1. Ashwin Datta (Chennai) (17mins, 20.586secs); 2. Yash Aradhya (Bengaluru) (17:23.803); 3. Nabil Hussain (Chennai) (17:24.995).

Race three: 1. Ashwin Datta (Chennai) (20:00.619); 2. Nayan Chatterjee (Mumbai) (20:03.107); 3. Raghul Rangasamy (Mamallapuram) (20:04.163).

Indian Touring Cars (Race two): 1. Arjun Balu (21:00.044); 2. Ashish Ramaswamy (21:06.030); 3. B. Vijaya Kumar (21:09.814).

Super Stock (Race two): 1. Veeresh Prasad (19:00.180); 2. Deepak Ravikumar (19:07.638); 3. K. Srinivas Teja (19:18.869).

Indian Junior Touring Cars (Race two): 1. Mikhail Merchant (20:08.939); 2. Kamlesh Parmar (20:14.901); 3. A.S. Prabhu (19:15.470).

Esteem Cup (Race two): 1. Raghul Ramasamy (19:33.803); 2. S. Vinod (19:39.926).

Formula LGB 1300 (Race three): 1. Nabil Hussain (MSport) (17:25.704); 2. Ashwin Datta (Momentum Motorsports) (17:32.692); 3. Sohil Shah (MSport) (17:32.936).

Volkswagen Ameo Cup (Race two, 12 laps): 1. Dhruv Mohite (Kolhapur) (16:05.547); 2. Affan Sadat Safwan Islam (Chittagong, Bangladesh) (16:10.334); 3. Saurav Bandyopadhyay (Thane) (16:10.930).


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0