Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

North-East states in Ranji this year

9 September, 2017 12:49 AM
50 0
North-East states in Ranji this year

In a breakthrough for north-eastern states, the Committee of Administrators (CoA) on Friday (September 8) assured the Indian cricket board's (BCCI) six state units that they will be part of the Ranji Trophy from the next season. The six north-east teams will participate in addition to the existing 28 Ranji Trophy teams if the Lodha reforms are implemented by state units. BCCI GM (game development) Ratnakar Shetty has been given charge of their smooth integration.

In a meeting with the CoA in Delhi, the six northeastern states - Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh - were also assured of playing the BCCI age group categories (U-16, U-23) from this season onwards.

However, the states, to be treated as a zone, will have to wait for clearance from BCCI technical committee head Sourav Ganguly to take part in Under-19 all-India event. This is because the schedule has already been prepared.

Also read: Muscular security policy will not work in J-K, says Mehbooba Mufti after resignation


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0