Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Quick guide to the 2018 Under-19 cricket World Cup

12 January, 2018 10:30 AM
31 0

Where is it being played? When is India playing? Here's all you need to know

The 12 edition of the Under-19 cricket World Cup gets underway in various venues in New Zealand starting on Saturday. The opening day of the 2018 edition – the third time New Zealand are hosting the tournament – features four games, with the hosts taking on defending champions West Indies.

The concept of such a tournament took shape 30 years ago, in Australia, when it was called the Youth World Cup. It returned after a ten-year break and from then on it has been referred to as the U-19 World Cup, held every two years.

The 16 teams have been divided into four groups of four teams each. All teams in each group will play each other once. The top two from each group will qualify for the quarter-finals. The top four will qualify for the semi-finals. The final will be played on February 3 at Mount Maunganui.


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0