Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Search results

1-10 results from 453 for query «bjd»

13 September, 2017 2:01 PM Odisha MLAs demand hike in salary, MLA LAD Fund

Bhubaneswar: MLAs cutting across party lines on Wednesday met Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in the Assembly and urged him to hike in their salary and an increase in the amount for MLA Local Area Development (LAD) fund. The members of ruling BJD, Opposition Congress and BJP said that there was every justification to hike the salary of MLAs after 44

11 September, 2017 3:04 AM Part of under-construction flyover collapses; 1 dead, 11 injured

One person was killed and 11 others were injured, four of them critically, after a portion of an under-construction flyover collapsed near Bomikhal here today. Officials said around 15 labourers were working on the flyover when the structure collapsed this afternoon. An injured worker, undergoing treatment at Capital Hospital, said, “A portion of the flyover 61

10 September, 2017 3:53 PM Political blame game over bridge collapse in Bhubaneswar

BHUBANESWAR: Political blame game took centre-stage even as the government ordered a probe into the collapse of a road overbridge that killed a man and injured at least 10 others. After visiting the injured at the Capital Hospital, leader of opposition Narasingha Mishra held chief minister Naveen Patnaik accountable for the mishap. "Being the minister 64

5 September, 2017 8:57 PM BJP President Amit Shah To Depart For 3 Day Visit To Odisha Today

Amit Shah will visit Odisha as part of his 110-day nationwide tour. New Delhi: BJP chief Amit Shah will begin a three-day visit to Odisha today as part of his 110-day nationwide tour to strengthen the party in the states. The BJP president is scheduled to meet party legislators and MPs during his visit. He will hold a separate meeting with state office 90

30 August, 2017 6:02 AM 7th Pay Commission: Odisha government announces new pay scale, nearly 8 lakh employees, pensioners to benefit

Odisha's 4.5 lakh government employees and nearly 3.5 lakh pensioners will benefit from the implementation of the Seventh Pay Commission's recommendations. Nearly two months after the Narendra Modi government approved recommendations of the Seventh Pay Commission on allowances for Central government employees, Odisha government has announced revised 65

24 August, 2017 8:36 AM Right to Privacy: 5 bills yet no law, how Parliament has dealt with personal data protection

At least five bills by private members were tabled in Parliament over the years seeking protection of privacy of an individual. But, no specific privacy law is in place. The latest bill was introduced by Baijayant Panda of the BJD earlier this year. Despite several private member bills, Parliament has not yet enacted any specific law defining privacy 29

4 August, 2017 7:24 AM Vice President of India Election 2017: Members of Parliament gear up to cast ballot tomorrow, result in evening

Ruling NDA's candidate M Venkaiah Naidu is tipped to be India's next vice president as members of Parliament gear up to cast their ballot tomorrow. Ruling NDA’s candidate M Venkaiah Naidu is tipped to be India’s next vice president as members of Parliament gear up to cast their ballot tomorrow. The name of the next vice president of India will be known 46

31 July, 2017 5:32 PM Congress, BJP spar over lynching in Lok Sabha

Charges and counter charges flew in the Lok Sabha on Monday over the issue of lynchings, with the Opposition parties targeting the Modi government and the ruling side asserting that it was the responsibility of the state governments to deal with such crimes. As the House took up a discussion on the lynchings, members of all parties condemned the killings 86

30 July, 2017 1:07 AM The Rise, Shine and Eclipse of Nitish Kumar

As young socialists, Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad Yadav made their electoral debut from Bihar in 1977, amid a massive anti-Congress wave in the country still smarting from Indira Gandhi's Emergency. While Lalu, along with many others, was elected to the Lok Sabha, Nitish lost his MLA election. In 1980, Lalu entered the Bihar Assembly. Nitish failed again 44

20 July, 2017 5:09 AM Ram Nath Kovind set to become India's 14th President today. Here's all you need to know

NEW DELHI: By today evening, India will get a new President. BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) nominee Ram Nath Kovind, former Bihar Governor, is set to win the Presidential polls held on Monday. Here is all you need to know about Presidential polls and its counting process. 1. Counting of votes has started at 11 am in Room Number 62 on the first 73