Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Search results

1-10 results from 49 for query «om prakash rawat»

2 December, 2018 6:48 AM Sunil Arora takes charge as new Chief Election Commissioner of India

Sunil Arora on Sunday took charge as the new Chief Election Commissioner of India. NEW DELHI: Sunil Arora on Sunday took charge as the 23rd Chief Election Commissioner of India succeeding Om Prakash Rawat who retired on Saturday. The all-important Lok Sabha elections in 2019 will be held under Arora's chairmanship. Along with the general elections, assembly 62

8 October, 2018 3:23 PM Rajnath Singh Flags Off First Flight Between Dehradun And Pithoragarh

The nine-seater aircraft took off from Jolly Grant airport in Dehradun. The number of flights will be increased if demand grows, an official said The first air service within the hill state of Uttarakhand began with a flight between Dehradun and Pithoragarh being flagged off by Home Minister Rajnath Singh on Monday. The nine-seater aircraft took off from Jolly 70

23 February, 2018 3:43 PM Madhya Pradesh Bypolls: Voting in Mungaoli, Kolaras Assembly Constituencies On February 24

New Delhi: Madhya Pradesh by-polls will be held in Mungaoli and Kolaras seats on February 24 and the counting of votes will take place on February 28. Mungaoli and Kolaras seats were vacated after the death of sitting Congress MLAs Mahendra Singh Kalukheda (Mungaoli) and Ram Singh Yadav (Kolaras). Madhya Pradesh bypolls is being seen as a prestige battle 44

13 February, 2018 10:23 AM Meghalaya assembly election 2018: Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat to visit on February 27

  An Election Commission (EC) team led by Chief Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat will arrive here on Thursday to take stock of the preparations for the February 27 assembly polls, an official said on Tuesday. SHILLONG: An Election Commission (EC) team led by Chief Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat will arrive here on Thursday to take stock 57

29 January, 2018 7:55 PM Election Commission delegation to visit Bengaluru on Wednesday

In a surprise move, a full delegation from the Election Commission of India (EC), including the Chief Election Commissioner and two Election Commissioners, are visiting Bengaluru on Wednesday to look into poll preparedness in the poll-bound State. They were expected to arrive only in mid-February, after the summary revision of electoral rolls. Om Prakash 61

23 January, 2018 11:08 AM 'No weakness' in decision: New CEC OP Rawat on disqualification of 20 AAP MLAs

The Election Commission had recommended 20 MLAs of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) be disqualified for holding offices of profit as ‘parliamentary secretaries.’  NEW DELHI: Om Prakash Rawat, who took over the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India on Tuesday, said that there's no 'infirmity' in EC's decision on disqualifying 20 AAP lawmakers in office 48

12 October, 2017 10:36 AM EC announces dates for Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh elections

Assembly elections in Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh will shortly be announced. Chief Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Jyoti, accompanied by Election Commissioners Om Prakash Rawat and Sunil Arora made the announcement. The term of the 182-member Gujarat Assembly ends on January 22, that of the 68-member Himachal House will come to an end on January 7. While 27

9 October, 2017 4:13 PM Sajan picks up two more golds

Srihari swims to yet another new mark The burden of expectations is surely resting lightly on the shoulders of Sajan Prakash and Srihari Natraj. Sajan added two more gold medals — one by improving his meet record — to raise his tally to four and Srihari set a second National record in two days to liven up the third day of the National aquatics championship 28

20 August, 2017 7:24 PM Hill blasts aimed at waging war against State, terrorizing masses

Kalimpong, August 20: Along with waging war against the State, the objective behind the two Hill blasts was to create terror among the masses as well as to demoralize the security forces, allege the police. A suo moto case has been initiated against Gorkha Janmukti Morcha President Bimal Gurung and four other front rung GJM leaders under the Unlawful 73

4 July, 2017 4:42 PM Achal Kumar Joti Appointed As The Next Chief Election Commissioner

New Delhi: Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Joti was today appointed as the next chief election commissioner (CEC) suceeding Nasim Zaidi. 64-year-old Mr Joti, who was the chief secretary of Gujarat when Prime Minister Narendra Modi was the chief minister, will take over as the head of the Election Commission on July 6, a notification issued by the law ministry 73